



Academic and Student Affairs Committee Meeting Minutes June 21, 2022

A meeting of the Academic and Student Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees was held on June 21, 2022.

Committee members present: Cheryl Tefer, Chair; Alex Cirillo, Vice Chair; Asani Ajogun, Dawn Erlandson, Javier Morillo and Kathleen Sheran

Committee members absent: None

Other board members present: Victor Ayemobuwa, Jay Cowles, Roger Moe, and George Soule

Staff present: Devinder Malhotra, Chancellor; Ron Anderson, Sr. Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs

The meeting materials for this meeting are available here starting on page 12. An audio recording of the meeting is available here.

Committee Chair Tefer called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

Agenda Item 1: Approval of the Meeting Minutes for May 17, 2022

Committee Chair Tefer asked if there were any changes or amendments to the minutes, then asked for a motion to approve. Trustee Cirillo made the motion and Trustee Sheran provided a second.

A roll call vote was conducted, and the minutes were approved unanimously.

Agenda Item 2: Mission Statement Change: Northland Community & Technical College Committee Chair Tefer invited Sr. Vice Chancellor Ron Anderson along with Sandy Kiddoo, President, Northland Community & Technical College to present, Northland Community & Technical College Mission Statement Change as detailed in the meeting materials.

The meeting materials for this item begin on page 17.

Committee Chair Tefer asked committee members to consider the following recommended committee motion:

The Academic and Student Affairs Committee recommends that the Board of Trustees approve the proposed mission statement of Northland Community & Technical College.

Trustee Erlandson made the motion and Trustee Cirillo seconded. A roll call vote was conducted. The vote was as follows:

Trustee Ajogun	Yes
Trustee Cirillo	Yes
Trustee Erlandson	Yes
Trustee Morillo	Yes
Trustee Oballa	Yes
Trustee Sheran	Yes
Trustee Tefer	Yes

The committee voted to approve the recommended motion.

Agenda Item 3-7: Proposed Policy Amendments to Board Policy (Second Reading)

Committee Chair Tefer invited Sr. Vice Chancellor Ron Anderson to present on proposed amendment to Board Policy 2.2 State Residency, Policy 3.21 Undergraduate Course Transfer and the Minnesota Transfer Curriculum, Policy 3.30 College Program Advisory, Policy 3.38 Career Information, and Policy 3.39 Transfer Rights and Responsibilities, as detailed in the meeting materials.

The meeting materials for this item begin on page 28.

Committee Chair Tefer asked committee members to consider the following recommended committee motion:

The Academic and Student Affairs Committee recommends that the Board of Trustees approve the proposed amendment to Policy 2.2 State Residency, Policy 3.21 Undergraduate Course Transfer and the Minnesota Transfer Curriculum, Policy 3.30 College Program Advisory, Policy 3.38 Career Information, and Policy 3.39 Transfer Rights and Responsibilities.

Trustee Sheran made the motion and Trustee Cirillo seconded. A roll call vote was conducted. The vote was as follows:

Trustee Ajogun Yes
Trustee Cirillo Yes
Trustee Erlandson Yes

Trustee Morillo Yes
Trustee Oballa Yes
Trustee Sheran Yes
Trustee Tefer Yes

Agenda Item 8: Credit for Prior Learning

Committee Chair Tefer invited Sr. Vice Chancellor Ron Anderson along with Mary Rothchild, Senior System Director for Workforce and Economic Development, Mary Beth Lakin, Director, Credit for Prior Learning Assessment Network, Nerita Hughes, Dean of Business Technology, Career and Workforce Development, North Hennepin Community College, Jessica Mensink, Director of Concurrent Enrollment, Southwest Minnesota State University to present, Credit for Prior Learning as detailed in the meeting materials.

The meeting materials for this item begin on page 58.

This being an informational item, there was no vote taken.

Adjournment

The committee chair adjourned the meeting at 10:51 a.m.